Skip to content

PBR Global Cup USA announced for 2019

The PBR has announced that the third stop of the PBR Global Cup will be hosted by the USA at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, TX on February 9th and 10th, 2019.

The Event

Once again, the event, named the WinStar World Casino and Resort 2019 Global Cup USA, will feature a format change with the addition of a sixth team.

Rather than the 14-rider home team, we have seen at the previous events in Canada and here in Australia, Team USA will be split into two teams of 7 riders. The second USA team will be comprised exclusively of Native American and will be called the USA Wolves.

The Aussies

Team Australia will be coached by 1998 PBR World Champion Troy Dunn (Bloomsbury, QLD).

Dunn has named Nathan Burtenshaw (Coonamble, NSW) and Lachlan Richardson (Gresford, NSW) as the first two members of his squad.

Burtenshaw is currently the highest ranked Australia rider in the PBR World Standings sitting 26th with a riding percentage of 43.48%. The 24-year-old went within a whisker of winning the Sydney event for Team Australia. Burtenshaw went 3-for-3 across the weekend despite riding with a torn ACL.

Richardson currently sits 34th in the PBR World Standings and is looking to qualify for his seventh PBR World Finals. The 25-year-old is 3-for-7 in Global Cup competition and will be one of Team Australia’s go-to riders in Arlington.

Dunn will add two more riders to the Team Australia Roster by October 29.

Team Australia will look to go one better following their narrow second-place finish in Sydney in June.

The Others

The Team USA Eagles will be looking to retain their horn of the PBR Global Cup Trophy on home soil. Coach Justin McBride selecting Cooper Davis and Cody Nance with his first picks.

Reigning PBR Global Cup Champions Team Brazil will be led by Renato Nunes with current World Number 1 Kaique Pacheco and Number 10 Eduardo Aparecido added as the initial members of their squad.

Team Canada coach Aaron Roy has selected two of the best Canada has to offer with Dakota Buttar and Tanner Byrne the first to be named.

Team Mexico coach Gerardo Venegas has selected two leaders in Juan Carlos Contreras and Jorge Valdiviezo to kick of the Mexican campaign.

The Team USA Wolves will be led by Wiley Petersen with Stetson Lawrence and Ryan Dirteater the first riders selected.

All teams will with name their completed 7 rider rosters by the end of 2018.

Published inNews and Interviews