Skip to content

Inside the Bullpen – 2019 Ballarat Invitational

The 2019 Ballarat Invitational completes a string of three straight PBR Australia Monster Energy Tour events in Victoria this Saturday night at the Ballarat Showgrounds.

Last weekend in Bendigo, the Cowboys recorded qualified rides on 30% of their mounts. This percentage was down 10%, or 4 qualified rides from the previous weekend in Shepparton. The bulls upped their performance, increasing their average bullscore by 0.17 to 41.63 points.

Take a look my 2019 Ballarat Invitational Event Preview.

It has been a long few weeks away from home for some of PBR Australia’s meanest bucking stock on the Monster Energy Tour.

The Ballarat pen will once again feature bulls from the Bendigo Invitational Champion Bull Team Throsby & Russell Bucking Bulls. The team at TnR will, unfortunately, be without one of their stars after Bring The Action was involved in an incident following the event last weekend.

Bring The Action bucked out 21 times in PBR Australia competition with just six riders making the whistle. He averaged an outstanding bullscore of 42.63 points and carried Duncan Elks, Bailey Woodard and Lachlan Richardson to Championship Round wins throughout his career.

TnR will go up against Kasper Bucking Bulls, Woodall Rodeo Company, and Maynes Bucking Bulls as they look to go back to back in the bull team competition.

View the 2019 Ballarat Invitational Daysheet.

Round 1 Key Matchups

The long round opens with a rematch between last weekend’s event champion Cody Heffernan and Kasper Bucking Bull’s Twisted X (2-1, PBRA).

Section 1 will so see Lachlan Richardson take on Wrangler’s Geronimo (1-1, PBRA) who was covered by Lane Mellers in Shepparton for 84-points.

Woodall Bucking Bulls’ Hot Rock (2-3, PBRA) did not produce his best out last weekend in Bendigo. But if he can bounce back and produce the performances we saw from him at Shepparton and Marrabel, he shapes up as a nice matchup for Bailey Woodard.

Lachlan Slade will take on Silver Lining (1-0, PBRA) who was very strong on debut in Bendigo, while in the first out of Section 2, Lane Mellers will take on the undefeated Spider Pig (2-0, PBRA).

Troy Wilkinson and Sam Woodard will take on the well known TnR Bucking Bulls pair of Hot Dots (9-6, PBRA) and On Point (11-7, PBRA).

Walking Wounded (1-0, PBRA) left it all on the dirt in his debut out last weekend for Mayne Bucking Bulls, but he will need to improve further if he is to deny Cliff Richardson an 8-second ride.

In Section 3, Mitchel Paton will go up against Chain Reaction (7-4, PBRA) with the reigning Australia Champion Aaron Kleier drawing penmate Red Neck (2-4, PBRA).

The final section of the Round 1 features bulls from TnR Bucking Bulls pen. Jay Borghero faces Broken Halo (4-2, PBRA) while Brazilian Flávio Vinícius da Silva looks to match up well with Feel The Fire (4-2, PBRA).

Young-gun Joshua Jones goes up against Swich Back (2-3, PBRA) with the leader in the Rookie of the Year race Brady Fielder facing Aces & Eights in a rematch from last weekend where the bull won in 6.28 seconds.

Check out the PBR Australia Website on Saturday morning for more in-depth analysis of Round 1 matchups in this week’s edition of The Morning Line.

Championship Round Pen

Mr Buckmore (3-3, PBRA) was the high marked bull of the Bendigo Invitational will again headline the Championship Round and await the highest ranked rider following Round 1. He was apart of TnR Bucking Bulls’ team who took home the Bull Team honours last weekend, upping his average bullscore to 43.25 thanks to a 44.5-point performance.

The very consistent Night Hawk (12-2, PBRA) will also take his spot in the Championship Round for TnR Bucking Bulls. In his last 6 outs, Night Hawk has become a regular in the bull team competition averaging 43-points per out.

Kasper Bucking Bulls Wrangler’s Volatile (6-1, PBRA) looks another tough draw following another strong trip last weekend. Volatile’s average mark is now 43.21 points with Aaron Kleier the only cowboy to taste success with an 89-point ride in Dubbo last season.

The up and coming Twisted X Hidden Agenda (2-0, PBRA) also gets his shot in the short round for Team Kasper after two very solid performances in the long rounds at Shepparton and Bendigo.

Checkout the 2019 Ballarat Invitational Championship Round.

Check back on Saturday afternoon for this week’s edition of the Ride the Rage Late Mail for the 2019 Ballarat Invitational.

Published inEvent Previews and Wrap-Ups