Skip to content

2019 Queanbeyan Invitational Preview

The PBR Australia Monster Energy Tour makes the journey south from its previous stop in Central Queensland to the Southern Tablelands of New South Wales for the 2019 Queanbeyan Invitational.

This event will be the first held in the border town on the eastern side of the Australian Capital Territory. The bull ride will kick off at 7:00 pm local time (AEST) on Saturday, 5 October at the Showgrounds with RidePass broadcasting the event live to PBR fans across the globe.

Head to the PBR Australia website for all the ticketing information.

Event History

Riders will be vying to become the inaugural event champion at the 2019 Queanbeyan Invitational.

Event Format and Points Available

The event format will be identical to the last weekend in Mackay with 21 cowboys each facing two bulls across two long-rounds of competition.

At the 2019 Queanbeyan Invitational, there will be a maximum of 600 points available to anyone rider towards the 2019 PBR Australian National Standings.

The Field

2018 PBR Australian National Champion Aaron Kleier continues to lead the way in the race for the 2019 Gold Buckle. Despite riding six of his last eight bulls, Kleier has come back to the field and leads the standings by just 385 points. The Clermont cowboy has covered a bull at the previous 13 events he has attended. Kleier finished Mackay 2-for-2 last weekend for a fourth-place result. He continues to do his job and will be hoping to step back into the winner’s circle for the first time since Mount Isa in June.

Brady Fielder is simply on fire and heads to Queanbeyan fresh off a big win at the 2019 Mackay Invitational. The Rookie bull rider has four wins, plus a second and a third placing from the last six events he has entered. Fielder has ridden eleven of his past 13 opponents including the front runner for Bucking Bull of the Year, POA Fully Locked & Loaded and the leader in the Rookie Bull race, Black Tuxedo.

Another rider who has been climbing up the standings is Lachlan Richardson who produced a runner-up finish at the last Monster Energy Tour stop in Mackay. The Gresford rider busted out of a mid-season slump and has four Top-5 finishes from his previous five starts. Richardson sits third in the National Standings, 1358 points adrift of Kleier.

Cliff Richardson is also starting to gather momentum at the right time, winning the buckle in Grafton four weeks ago and backing that up with a Top-8 finish in Mackay. The Gresford talent has bucked off just two bulls from his last six attempts, and those two bulls were the cream of the crop. Richardson remains in the hunt for the 2019 title but with 1838 points to make up, needs to maintain that consistency to stay in touch.

2018 Rookie of the Year Lane Mellers covered four straight bulls before running into the seldom ridden Slam n Jam last weekend in Mackay. That buck off shouldn’t faze the Mundubbera cowboy who recently made his Unleash The Beast series debut in the USA and his confidence will remain sky-high.

2017 Australian Champion Troy Wilkinson returns to action after missing the last two Monster Energy Tour events in Grafton and Mackay. The Upper Horton bull rider has bucked off 10-straight bulls in PBR Australia competition and has slipped to twelfth in the standings. Wilkinson will be looking to get the train back on the tracks in Queanbeyan.

Veteran Budd Williamson went 2-for-2 to record a third-place finish last weekend at Mackay. He has now ridden a bull at five of his previous six events and climbed to twentieth place in the standings. The Ayr cowboy needs to keep the momentum to ensure he qualifies for the PBR Australia Grand Finals.

Dingo’s Bailey Woodard recorded his first Top-5 finish of the season in Mackay to move within striking distance of a Grand Finals berth.

Rookie Josh Cavanagh is also on the outside looking in and needs a strong finish to guarantee his place in Townsville.

The Bull Pen

Headlining the bullpen in Queanbeyan is Throsby & Russell Bucking Bulls. The 2018 PBR Australia Stock Contractors of the Year are short-priced favourites to go back to back and haul a strong pen of bulls south with a good mix of youth and experience in the truck.

George Hempenstall will make the short trip across from Yass with some solid veteran bovines in tow.

Maynes Bucking Bulls head south from their Tamworth base for the event with a promising set of bulls.

John Gill & Sons supply some very experienced bulls from the Riverina that we have not seen since the early stages of the 2019 season. 

South Coast stock contractor Diamond S Bucking Bulls will bring a small team up the Clyde, and Eric Yates’ Chocolate Thunder will complete the Queanbeyan bullpen.

Check back tomorrow as I break down the daysheet for the 2019 Queanbeyan Invitational.

I will be providing updates in the Ride the Rage Score Center from 7 pm AEST on Saturday or check back on Sunday for my wrap-up.

Published inEvent Previews and Wrap-Ups